Update your NETWORK (it’s your best resource):

I just celebrated my 10th anniversary on Twitter. While my participation and involvement in Twitter has changed some in the last few years, I still find it one of the most useful and supportive resources for activism, learning and sharing.

In fact, my Twitter feed is my first “go-to” each morning (News, Trending, Specific Lists).  Yes, I am conscious and deliberate about what I am reading (and who is publishing) and I try to ensure my feed is diverse (even when I do not agree with every opinion). I am CERTAIN that my life has been enriched through these tools. I have also lost “friends/followers” due to my own opinions which I make clear “are my own and not representative of my employer (or family, or friends).

The real truth here is that I can reach out to almost any expert at any time and get advice. I cannot always do that in my own place of work. I have developed long-time friends and colleagues from across the world (whom I have visited and have visited me).

As the instructor of a Junior Level Qualification course (in Ontario), I always have my participants find at least three NEW people to add to their network and I encourage them to reach out. I am so proud and excited that so many of the folks who I have followed and collaborated with are included in this list. – Zoe

print

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *